SAQA Trunk Show

With Peter being in Halifax at xmas for over three weeks it

gave me little time to get two art quilts done for shows I was interested in entering before I left for my holiday in Cyprus. It is all but a blurr, I barely remember doing these. Yes, I do take on too much at times…. silly fool I am.

This is my entry to the SAQA Trunk Show that will travel around the US for a while. They rec'd 185 entries. We were to create a small piece that would be shown in an 8"x8" matt opening that illustrated a textile technique we most often use.

I first took a printed fabric with a large floral design,

cut it up and crazy quilted it with 1/4" seams. I then ironed on some painted Bondaweb to the surface. Dropped down some bits of thread and ironed down a hand dyed piece of silk organza. So this bluey green piece to the right is what is the base.

I mounted the 'sandwich' onto felt and machine embroidered the background; hand embroidered leaf shapes; and used reverse machine embroidery – stitching from the back of the piece with a boucle thread wound in the bobbin. That gave the lacey look of the flower. The center is hand embroidered. I love how you can transform something quite plain and turn it into something full of texture and depth.

 

 

 

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

