Purple needle felting challenge

This was really very enjoyable. The pic below is my NFC contribution to the current challenge: 'Purple'. I didn't have a lot of purple of anything, except in threads. So I got the hand carder out and mixed some very dark purple (logwood) with magenta (cochineals) and white and blue raw wools to get different shades. I first put some cut shapes of purple and green voile onto a hand dyed cotton fabric that is backed with commercial black felt. I used a 38 single and a 40 single felting needle and away I went.

I found a nice slubby yarn to outline everything in and added some dyed silk waste into the background. It is just over an A4 in size (about 9 in X 11 in.) I am very happy with how it turned out. Doing it by hand you can contour edges. I'd like to try another one similar only building up the image so it is more three dimensional.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

