Felted landscapes

I have begun a series of landscape pieces inspired by life on the island of Cyprus where I have been living the past few years. These are 30 x 30 cm hand felted (wet) wool backgrounds that have then been embellished with stitching, applique, found object.

The TAST challenge is great because I now feel I will be much freer with the stitching and be able to add more variety… although I think simple is best. At least I now have more choices in my stitch vocabulary!

On my last hike with the geology interest group we went hunting for fossils in a bed on a cliff above the sea where the fossils we were finding were five million years old. I found lovely bits of shells and three in perfect condition that I will use in another seaside landscape. I really love the sea.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

